Max Boxing

The 2019 National Boxing Hall of Fame inductees to be celebrated April 28th

For the love of the sport: The National Boxing Hall of Fame annual event April 28 Quiet Cannon, Montebello, CA

By John J. Raspanti

Share on WhatsappTwitterFacebook
National Boxing Hall of Fame
National Boxing Hall of Fame

Champions, trainers, promoters, announcers, and legends, make up the 2019 class of the National Boxing Hall of Fame.


The event, the fifth annual, hosted by Bill and Linda Dempsey Young, takes place April 28th at the Quiet Cannon Crystal Grand Ballroom, Montebello, CA.


Scheduled to be inducted into the fighter’s category are: Julio Cesar Chavez Sr., Michael “Little Hands of Stone” Carbajal, “Dangerous” David Diaz, Montell “Ice” Griffin, Humberto “Chiquita” Gonzalez, Lucia “Dutch Destroyer” Riker, Raul “Jibaro” Perez, Mike “Hercules” Weaver, and Jack “Galveston Giant” Johnson (posthumously).


Also honored will be “Book of the Year” winner Gene Aguilera, “Lady of the Ring” Amy Hayes, manager Carl King, trainers Abel Sanchez and Jim Strickland, writer/author Alan Santana, and boxing judge Don Jose Manzur. Jim Amato will receive the Bobby Chacon “Gift of Love Award,” former world champion Sean Grady, the “Howie Steindler Award, and legendary publicist Bill Caplan will receive the Don Jose Sulaiman lifetime achievement award. Elizabeth Reyes will be the first to recieve the Albereto Reyes humanitian award, named for her late father.


Chavez Sr. is acknowledged by many as the greatest Mexican fighter ever. The six-time world champion amassed an amazing record of 107 wins and six losses over his 17-year career.


Carbajal captured a silver medal at the 1988 Olympic Games. He parlayed that success into a fantastic professional career, winning six world titles before retiring at the age of 31.


Diaz was all about guts and determination. The Chicago, ILL. native captured the WBC lightweight title in 2007-losing it in a courageous fight against Manny Pacquiao.


The clever Griffin captured the WBC light heavyweight title in 1997 against the great Roy Jones. He fought anyone who was everyone in the light heavyweight division.


Gonzalez and Carbajal will forever be joined at the hip due to their furious three-fight series. Gonzalez lost only three times in 43 bouts.


Riker is one of the most dominant female fighters in history. The former IBO champion finished her career undefeated in 17 professional fights.


Perez, a two-division world champion, knocked out 42 opponents in 61 career victories.


Weaver, behind on the scorecards, won the world’s heavyweight title by knocking out John Tate with 45 seconds left in the contest. He held the title for two years.


Johnson was the first African American to capture the heavyweight title in 1908. He defended it two years later against James J. Jeffries in Reno, NV. in what was called the first “Fight of the Century”


The goal of the National Boxing Hall of Fame is to shine a light on the legacy of the great pugilists and participants from the past so they may be remembered and honored.


Many great fighters will be attendance.


Only a few tickets left!



April 28 - 11AM-3PM


Tickets are on sale:


For reservations, please call: 818-621-2249


Individual tickets: $75


$750 a table (10 seats)


$1,000 Diamond table (10 seats)


By mail:


The National Boxing Hall of Fame

P.O. Box 9487

West Hills, Ca 91309


Quiet Cannon

901 Via San Clemente

Montebello, Ca

Share on WhatsappTwitterFacebook

SecondsOut Weekly Newsletter

© 2000 - 2018 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &