Crave Online


MaxTV Podcasts Fight Schedule Radio Todays Press Message Boards Login
Max Analysis
John Raspanti
Radio Rahim
Radio Rahimn's Interviews Radio Rahim's Facebook Radio Rahim's Google+ Radio Rahim's Website email Radio Rahim


Luis Cortes Archive


Alec Kohut Archive


Marty Mulcahey Archive


Allan Scotto Archive


Stephen Tobey Archive


German Villasenor Archive


Anson Wainwright Archive


Matthew Paras Archive


Daniel Kravetz Archive


Jason Gonzalez Archive

Azad Championship Report: Huck retains Title


Marco Huck retained his W.B.O. cruiserweight title at the Gerry Weber Stadion in Halle / Westfalen, Germany on Saturday night but challenger Firat Arslan forced him to dig deep and fight every inch of the way.

Huck, 35-2-1-(25), was a clear favourite going into his latest title defence but Firat, 21-6-2-(21), pressed forward all night, forcing Huck to fight his way out of every corner, which made for a fierce and entertaining fight at times.


Arslan kept up the pressure for as long as his 42 year-old legs would allow him but they gave out on him in the last quarter giving Huck the edge and the opportunity to take over and nick a 117-111, 115-113 (twice), unanimous points verdict on all three judges cards. The decision was met with boos from sections of the crowd, SecondsOut had Huck a close 115-113 winner but the two 117-111 scores seemed way out.

Azad Championship Report
Azad Championship Report

In a light heavyweight clash WBO No.4 Dustin Dirks, 26-0-(19), scored a forgettable 12 round unanimous decision over Cleiton Conceicao, 18-5-2-(14). Dirks floored Conceicao in round two, but he survived to back peddle and hang on for the rest of the bout as the scorline of 117-107, 117-108, 120-104 indicated.

  Heavyweight Edmund Gerber remained unbeaten at 22-0-(14), winning an eight round unanimous decision against American Darnell “The Ding-A-Ling Man” Wilson. Wilson rocked Gerber badly at the end of the opening round but the bell rang before he could finish the job. Gerber survived, regrouped and won by scores of 79-73, 79-73, 79-74.

  Other results

Light heavyweight Robert Woge w tko 5 Serhiy

Cruiserweight Enrico Koelling w pts 6 Ivan Maslov

Cruiserweight David Graf w pts 8 Blanchard Kalambay

Super middleweight Tyron Zeuge w pts 6 Matingu Kindele


© 2010 MaxBoxing UK Ltd